Skip to content
Your New Country

Moving to Thailand · Visas and residency · Reviewed September 4, 2026

Visas and residency in Thailand for US citizens

9 routes are tracked here, 1 of which lead to permanent residence. Each one below carries its own duration, cost, eligibility test and the government page the details were read from.

Routes tracked9Visitor, Digital nomad, Retirement, Investment, Work, Other
Lead to permanent residence1 / 98 are temporary or renewable only
Open without a job offer7 / 9Destination Thailand Visa (DTV), Non-Immigrant O-A (Long Stay), Non-Immigrant O-X (10-year Long Stay), Long-Term Resident (LTR) Visa, Work-from-Thailand Professional, Long-Term Resident (LTR) Visa, Wealthy Pensioner, Long-Term Resident (LTR) Visa, Wealthy Global Citizen, Thailand Privilege Card
Health cover outside the system$180/moTypical private premium, one adult

This page is reference information, not immigration advice. Fees, income thresholds and processing times change without notice and are frequently amended mid-year. Verify every requirement against the official government page linked on each route before you file anything or book anything, and take advice from a licensed immigration lawyer where your case is not straightforward.

Which route fits your situation

The table maps common situations to the routes Thailand actually has in this dataset. Where a row says no route is tracked, that is a statement about the 9 routes on this page, not a ruling that nothing exists. Check the official pages before you rule anything out.

Reader situation mapped to the Thailand routes tracked here.
Your situationRoute that fitsPermanent residence
You have an offer from an employer based in Thailand
  • Non-Immigrant B (Employment) · 90 days single entry or 1 year multiple entry, then annual extensions of stay inside Thailand tied to the work permit
Can lead to PR
You keep your US employer and work remotely
  • Destination Thailand Visa (DTV) · 5 years, multiple entry. The Washington embassy page states the five-year validity and the fee but does not publish a permitted stay per entry; it refers period of stay and extensions to the Immigration Bureau in Thailand. In practice the Immigration Bureau has been admitting DTV holders for 180 days per entry since the visa launched in July 2024, but that number is not stated on the embassy page, so confirm it with immigration rather than planning around it.
  • Long-Term Resident (LTR) Visa, Work-from-Thailand Professional · 10 years, granted as 5 years then extended for 5 more if you still qualify
Not directly
You are retired and living on pension or investment incomeNot directly
You are investing capital or buying into a businessNot directly
You are enrolling at a university, college or language schoolNo study route is among the ones tracked here. Institutions can usually tell you exactly which permit their international students hold.Not applicable
You are the spouse or close family of a citizen or residentNo family route is among the ones tracked here. Family reunification generally exists in some form, so treat this as a gap in the tracked set rather than a closed door.Not applicable

Routes on this page that none of those situations covers: Tourist Visa Exemption, Thailand Privilege Card.

Every route at a glance

One row per route, in the order they are set out below. The costs are the official government fees recorded in the data. They exclude translations, apostilles, medicals and legal help, which together often come to more than the fee itself.

Residence and entry routes into Thailand recorded for US citizens.
RouteCategoryValid forOfficial costPermanent residence
Tourist Visa ExemptionVisitor30 days per entry, extendable once by up to 30 more days at the discretion of the immigration officerFree. The 30-day scheme takes effect on 15 September 2026; extensions are charged separately by the Immigration Bureau.Not directly
Destination Thailand Visa (DTV)Digital nomad5 years, multiple entry. The Washington embassy page states the five-year validity and the fee but does not publish a permitted stay per entry; it refers period of stay and extensions to the Immigration Bureau in Thailand. In practice the Immigration Bureau has been admitting DTV holders for 180 days per entry since the visa launched in July 2024, but that number is not stated on the embassy page, so confirm it with immigration rather than planning around it.400 dollars, non-refundable, paid by card through the e-visa portal.Not directly
Non-Immigrant O-A (Long Stay)Retirement1 year, renewed by annual extensions of stay applied for inside Thailand200 dollars, non-refundable. Apply at least 20 working days before travel through thaievisa.go.th.Not directly
Non-Immigrant O-X (10-year Long Stay)Retirement5 years, renewable once, for up to 10 years of stay in total400 dollars. Apply at least 30 working days before travel through thaievisa.go.th.Not directly
Long-Term Resident (LTR) Visa, Work-from-Thailand ProfessionalDigital nomad10 years, granted as 5 years then extended for 5 more if you still qualify50,000 baht, about 1,520 dollars, for the 10-year multiple-entry visa when collected in Thailand. BOI warns the fee can be considerably higher when collected at an embassy or through the e-visa system.Not directly
Long-Term Resident (LTR) Visa, Wealthy PensionerRetirement10 years, granted as 5 years then extended for 5 more if you still qualify50,000 baht, about 1,520 dollars, for the 10-year multiple-entry visa when collected in Thailand.Not directly
Long-Term Resident (LTR) Visa, Wealthy Global CitizenInvestment10 years, granted as 5 years then extended for 5 more if you still qualify50,000 baht, about 1,520 dollars, for the 10-year multiple-entry visa when collected in Thailand.Not directly
Non-Immigrant B (Employment)Work90 days single entry or 1 year multiple entry, then annual extensions of stay inside Thailand tied to the work permit80 dollars for the 90-day single entry, 200 dollars for the one-year multiple entry. Work permit fees are charged separately by the Ministry of Labour.Counts toward it
Thailand Privilege CardOther5, 10, 15 or 20 years depending on the tier purchasedBronze 650,000 baht for 5 years, about 19,800 dollars. Gold 900,000 baht for 5 years. Platinum 1,500,000 baht for 10 years. Diamond 2,500,000 baht for 15 years. Reserve 5,000,000 baht for 20 years, by invitation only.Not directly

Route by route

The facts in each panel come from the Thailand data and the official page beside it. The paragraph underneath describes how routes of that class usually work, wherever they are issued, so you know what the application will ask for before you open the form.

Tourist Visa Exemption

VisitorNo direct path to permanent residence

Valid for
30 days per entry, extendable once by up to 30 more days at the discretion of the immigration officer
Official cost
Free. The 30-day scheme takes effect on 15 September 2026; extensions are charged separately by the Immigration Bureau.
Permanent residence
Not directly

Who qualifies. US passport holders are on the list of 60 exempt nationalities, for tourism, business engagements, or urgent or ad-hoc work. The passport must be valid for at least six months on your return, and you must be able to show cash equivalent to 20,000 baht per person or 40,000 baht per family, about 610 and 1,220 dollars. This is not a residence route: it is the runway you land on while a real long-stay application is in progress.

Typical of visitor routesVisitor entry is not residence. It permits a limited stay, does not permit local work, and the clock is usually enforced across a rolling period rather than per entry. Many countries also require a residence application to be filed from outside their territory, so arriving as a visitor and switching status inside the country is often not possible.

Destination Thailand Visa (DTV)

Digital nomadNo direct path to permanent residence

Valid for
5 years, multiple entry. The Washington embassy page states the five-year validity and the fee but does not publish a permitted stay per entry; it refers period of stay and extensions to the Immigration Bureau in Thailand. In practice the Immigration Bureau has been admitting DTV holders for 180 days per entry since the visa launched in July 2024, but that number is not stated on the embassy page, so confirm it with immigration rather than planning around it.
Official cost
400 dollars, non-refundable, paid by card through the e-visa portal.
Permanent residence
Not directly

Who qualifies. Three tracks. The workcation track covers digital nomads, remote workers, foreign talent and freelancers and needs an employment contract, employment certificate or a professional portfolio. The soft power track covers Muay Thai training, Thai culinary courses and medical treatment and needs a letter from the institute, company or hospital. The third track is for spouses and children under 20 of a DTV holder. Every applicant must show three months of savings or checking statements with an ending balance of at least 500,000 baht, which the embassy quotes as about 16,000 dollars, in each of those months, plus proof of permanent residence and an FBI criminal record certificate issued within the last three months.

Typical of digital nomad routesNomad and remote-work permits are built around income earned outside the country. Expect to evidence a minimum monthly income or savings balance with bank statements and contracts, hold private health cover for the whole period, and produce a criminal record check. They usually do not allow you to take local clients or a local job, and whether the years count toward permanent residence varies more than any other route type.

Non-Immigrant O-A (Long Stay)

RetirementNo direct path to permanent residence

Valid for
1 year, renewed by annual extensions of stay applied for inside Thailand
Official cost
200 dollars, non-refundable. Apply at least 20 working days before travel through thaievisa.go.th.
Permanent residence
Not directly

Who qualifies. Age 50 and over. Money: a bank deposit of at least 800,000 baht held for the last three months, about 24,300 dollars, or a monthly income certificate showing at least 65,000 baht, about 1,980 dollars, or a combination of deposit and income totalling 800,000 baht a year. You also need health insurance covering COVID-19 with a sum insured of at least 3,000,000 baht per policy year, which the embassy states as 100,000 dollars, running for the whole stay, an FBI criminal record certificate issued within three months, and a medical certificate on the official form confirming absence of prohibited diseases. No work is permitted.

Typical of retirement routesPassive-income routes ask you to show recurring money you do not have to work for: pension, annuity, rental or investment income, in your name, evidenced by statements and award letters rather than projections. Local employment is typically ruled out, and health cover is almost always a condition of the first permit.

Non-Immigrant O-X (10-year Long Stay)

RetirementNo direct path to permanent residence

Valid for
5 years, renewable once, for up to 10 years of stay in total
Official cost
400 dollars. Apply at least 30 working days before travel through thaievisa.go.th.
Permanent residence
Not directly

Who qualifies. Open to nationals of 14 countries including the United States, age 50 and over. Money is the hard part: either a 3,000,000 baht fixed deposit, about 91,200 dollars, or 1,800,000 baht on deposit plus 1,200,000 baht of annual income, with the funds held in a Thai bank. Health insurance must come from a Thai provider and cover at least 40,000 baht of outpatient and 400,000 baht of inpatient benefits. Working in Thailand is not allowed on this visa.

Typical of retirement routesPassive-income routes ask you to show recurring money you do not have to work for: pension, annuity, rental or investment income, in your name, evidenced by statements and award letters rather than projections. Local employment is typically ruled out, and health cover is almost always a condition of the first permit.

Long-Term Resident (LTR) Visa, Work-from-Thailand Professional

Digital nomadNo direct path to permanent residence

Valid for
10 years, granted as 5 years then extended for 5 more if you still qualify
Official cost
50,000 baht, about 1,520 dollars, for the 10-year multiple-entry visa when collected in Thailand. BOI warns the fee can be considerably higher when collected at an embassy or through the e-visa system.
Permanent residence
Not directly

Who qualifies. Average personal income of at least 80,000 dollars a year over the last two years, or between 40,000 and 80,000 dollars with a master's degree or higher. Your employer must be an established overseas company: either publicly listed, or a private company that has operated for at least three years with combined revenue of at least 50 million dollars over the last three years. You also need health insurance of at least 50,000 dollars, or Thai social security membership, or 100,000 dollars maintained in a bank account for at least twelve months. Do not expect the digital work permit in this category: BOI states plainly that a work permit will not be granted to Work-from-Thailand Professionals, because the holder works remotely for a foreign employer and has no Thai employer. What you do get is annual instead of 90-day reporting, exemption from the re-entry permit, airport fast track, and exemption from Thai tax on overseas income.

Typical of digital nomad routesNomad and remote-work permits are built around income earned outside the country. Expect to evidence a minimum monthly income or savings balance with bank statements and contracts, hold private health cover for the whole period, and produce a criminal record check. They usually do not allow you to take local clients or a local job, and whether the years count toward permanent residence varies more than any other route type.

Long-Term Resident (LTR) Visa, Wealthy Pensioner

RetirementNo direct path to permanent residence

Valid for
10 years, granted as 5 years then extended for 5 more if you still qualify
Official cost
50,000 baht, about 1,520 dollars, for the 10-year multiple-entry visa when collected in Thailand.
Permanent residence
Not directly

Who qualifies. Age 50 and over with at least 80,000 dollars a year of unearned or passive income, which BOI defines to include pension, rental income, realized capital gains, dividends and interest. If your passive income is between 40,000 and 80,000 dollars you must additionally invest 250,000 dollars in Thai government bonds with at least five years remaining, direct investment in Thai-registered companies, or Thai property. Same insurance rule as the other LTR categories: 50,000 dollars of health cover, Thai social security, or 100,000 dollars held in a bank account for twelve months.

Typical of retirement routesPassive-income routes ask you to show recurring money you do not have to work for: pension, annuity, rental or investment income, in your name, evidenced by statements and award letters rather than projections. Local employment is typically ruled out, and health cover is almost always a condition of the first permit.

Long-Term Resident (LTR) Visa, Wealthy Global Citizen

InvestmentNo direct path to permanent residence

Valid for
10 years, granted as 5 years then extended for 5 more if you still qualify
Official cost
50,000 baht, about 1,520 dollars, for the 10-year multiple-entry visa when collected in Thailand.
Permanent residence
Not directly

Who qualifies. Two tests, not three. At least 1 million dollars in global or Thai assets held in your own name, and at least 500,000 dollars invested in Thailand, already made and held before you apply. Unlike the other three LTR categories, there is no personal income test: BOI's published qualifications for Wealthy Global Citizens list assets, the Thai investment and the insurance condition only, and the 80,000 dollars a year of personal income that older write-ups attach to this category is not in the current criteria. The Thai investment can be government bonds with at least five years remaining to maturity, direct investment in Thai-registered companies, Thai property, or a combination, and the 500,000 dollars can count toward the 1 million dollar asset test. Same insurance rule as the other LTR categories: 50,000 dollars of health cover, Thai social security, or 100,000 dollars held in a bank account for twelve months.

Typical of investment routesInvestment routes exchange capital for residence, and the paperwork is mostly about the money rather than about you: proof of legal source, a traceable transfer trail, and a holding period before you can sell or withdraw. Thresholds and qualifying assets move frequently, and several governments have narrowed or closed these programmes at short notice, so the official page is the only version worth trusting.

Non-Immigrant B (Employment)

WorkCounts toward permanent residence

Valid for
90 days single entry or 1 year multiple entry, then annual extensions of stay inside Thailand tied to the work permit
Official cost
80 dollars for the 90-day single entry, 200 dollars for the one-year multiple entry. Work permit fees are charged separately by the Ministry of Labour.
Permanent residence
Yes, time on this permit counts

Who qualifies. A job with a Thai employer. The employer obtains a WP32 work-permit approval letter from the Ministry of Labour, and you attach it to the visa application; renewals use the existing work permit instead. You also show three months of bank statements with a minimum balance of 1,000 dollars a month for a single applicant, 2,000 dollars for a family, or 4,000 dollars for a multiple-entry application. This is the only common route that eventually opens the door to Thai permanent residence, which normally requires three consecutive years of extensions on a work-based non-immigrant visa with Thai tax filings behind them.

Typical of work routesEmployer-sponsored routes normally start with a signed offer, not with you. The employer usually has to prove the role was advertised or that it sits on a shortage list, and the permit is tied to that job, so changing employer generally means notifying the immigration authority or filing again. Time held on a work permit is the kind that most often counts toward permanent residence.

Thailand Privilege Card

OtherNo direct path to permanent residence

Valid for
5, 10, 15 or 20 years depending on the tier purchased
Official cost
Bronze 650,000 baht for 5 years, about 19,800 dollars. Gold 900,000 baht for 5 years. Platinum 1,500,000 baht for 10 years. Diamond 2,500,000 baht for 15 years. Reserve 5,000,000 baht for 20 years, by invitation only.
Permanent residence
Not directly

Who qualifies. No income test, no age test, no investment test. You pay a membership fee to Thailand Privilege Card Co., pass background screening, and receive a renewable Privilege Entry Visa plus airport and concierge services. It buys you the right to stay, not the right to work, and it is not an investment: the fee is a consumed cost, not an asset you get back.

Typical of other routesRoutes outside the standard categories carry their own conditions and are the most likely to change between one application cycle and the next. Read the official page in full before you build a plan around this one.

Which routes actually go somewhere

Whether a permit renews forever or accumulates toward settlement decides what a decade in Thailand is worth at the end of it. These are the routes on each side of that line.

Builds toward permanent residence

  • Non-Immigrant B (Employment) · 90 days single entry or 1 year multiple entry, then annual extensions of stay inside Thailand tied to the work permit

Temporary or renewable only

A residence permit and tax residence are decided by separate tests, and it is common to trip the second without intending to. Thailand sets its own rule for when you become taxable there, and the US carries on taxing its citizens wherever they live. How US citizens are taxed in Thailand →

Most residence applications require proof of health cover from the day the permit starts, before you are inside the local system. What healthcare access looks like in Thailand →

How the Thailand route mix compares

Thailand has 9 tracked routes, 1 of which build toward permanent residence. Across the 15 countries on this site the median is 7 tracked routes and 4 that lead to settlement. The table counts routes by category, so if one specific door is the one you need, you can see which destinations have it.

Number of tracked routes by category. Column headings link to each country's own residency guide.
CategoryThailandCanadaIrelandAustraliaNew Zealand
Visitor11111
Work13243
Digital nomad2NoneNoneNone1
Retirement3None1NoneNone
Investment1None1None1
StudyNone111None
FamilyNone1None11
AncestryNoneNone1NoneNone
Other1None111

A category with no tracked route is a gap in this dataset for that country, not proof that no such permit exists. Each count is only as complete as the government pages listed on that country's own guide.

How the process usually sequences

The order below is typical rather than specific: it holds for most residence routes in most countries, and the official page for your route governs wherever the two differ. What varies between countries is the length of each stage, not usually its existence.

  1. Pick the route and read its official page end to end

    Nearly every rejected application was filed under the wrong category or against last year’s requirements. The route decides the document list, the fee and where you file, so it is the only decision that is expensive to get wrong.

  2. Order civil documents early

    Birth and marriage certificates, a criminal record check and, where relevant, degree certificates usually need an apostille and a certified translation. This step is administrative and typically the longest one, because it depends on record offices rather than on you.

  3. Assemble the money and cover evidence

    Most residence routes want bank statements covering several consecutive months, a signed employment or income document, and proof of health cover valid from the day you arrive. Statements that skip a month or arrive as screenshots are a common reason files are sent back.

  4. File the application, usually from outside the country

    Residence applications are commonly lodged at the consulate covering your US address, or through a government portal that still ends in a consular appointment. Slots can be the binding constraint on your timeline, so book before the file is perfect rather than after.

  5. Attend the appointment and give biometrics

    Fingerprints and a photograph are taken at the appointment or shortly after, and the original documents are checked against the copies you submitted. Fees are normally paid at this point and are rarely refundable if the application fails.

  6. Wait for the decision, then collect the entry visa

    The decision arrives as a visa sticker or approval letter that lets you travel. It usually carries its own window in which you must enter, which is why booking flights before approval is a gamble rather than a plan.

  7. Arrive and register locally

    Most countries expect a local registration within days or weeks of arrival: an address registration, a tax or social security number, and often a local bank account. Several of these steps depend on each other, so the order they are done in matters more than the effort each one takes.

  8. Collect the residence card and diarise the renewal

    The physical permit is issued after registration, sometimes at a separate appointment. Renewal windows open before expiry and close on the day, and continuous lawful residence is what later counts toward permanent residence or naturalisation, so a lapsed permit can reset a clock you have been building for years.

Nothing in that sequence is a substitute for the instructions on the official page for your route. Treat it as a checklist for planning your months, not as the requirements themselves.

Residency questions about Thailand

What visa lets an American live in Thailand while working remotely?

The Destination Thailand Visa. It costs 400 dollars, is valid for five years with multiple entries, and covers digital nomads, remote employees and freelancers. You need an employment contract, employment certificate or professional portfolio, three months of bank statements each ending above 500,000 baht, and an FBI criminal record certificate issued within the last three months. If you earn over 80,000 dollars a year, the ten-year LTR visa is a better deal.

Can I get permanent residence or citizenship in Thailand?

Rarely. The Immigration Act caps the annual permanent residence quota at no more than 100 grants per nationality, and qualifying normally requires three consecutive years of extensions on a work-based non-immigrant visa with Thai tax filings behind them. The LTR visa explicitly does not lead to it, and neither do the DTV, the retirement visas or the Privilege Card. Plan on renewing your status annually rather than settling permanently.

How long can I stay in Thailand without a visa?

From 15 September 2026 the tourist visa exemption gives US passport holders 30 days per entry, extendable once by up to 30 more days at the immigration officer's discretion. You need a passport valid six months beyond your return and the equivalent of 20,000 baht in cash per person. It is a landing pad while a long-stay application processes, not a way to live in Thailand.

Official pages and sources

Every route on this page was read from a government source. These are the pages behind them, unduplicated, so you can check the current fee and document list yourself.

Wider sources for this country

What these numbers are. Several figures on this page could not be matched to a published statistic and are reasoned estimates. Treat them as directional and check the official sources before acting on them. Where a source entry says a value is derived, estimated or crowd-sourced, that is exactly what it is: no international body publishes a like-for-like index for every category, and private insurance premiums are not published at all in most countries. Rent figures are national market averages, so a capital city will run above them. How the dataset is built.

  1. World Bank, PPP conversion factor for household final consumption expenditure, Thailand (10.61 baht per international dollar, 2025) over the official exchange rate (32.88 baht per US dollar, 2025 period average). The ratio, 32.3, is the comparative price level of a Thai household consumption basket against the United States and is the basis for col_index_vs_us on this page. The same calculation on 2021 values (11.71 over 31.98) gives 36.6, which matches the International Comparison Program 2021 benchmark exactly; the level has fallen since because US prices rose faster than Thai ones. — accessed September 4, 2026
  2. World Bank, official exchange rate, LCU per US dollar, period average, Thailand (32.88 for 2025). Used for all baht-to-dollar conversions on this page. — accessed September 4, 2026
  3. IRS, yearly average currency exchange rates (Thailand baht 32.870 per US dollar for 2025), cross-check on the conversion rate used here. — accessed September 4, 2026
  4. World Bank, total population, Thailand (71,619,863 in 2025). — accessed September 4, 2026
  5. ILOSTAT, average monthly earnings of employees, Thailand, from the National Statistical Office Labour Force Survey: 16,698.5 baht in 2025 and 16,749.1 baht in 2026 Q1. Net salary shown here is 16,698.5 baht less the 750 baht monthly social security contribution ceiling, with no income tax due at that level after the standard employment deduction and personal allowance, converted at 32.88 baht per dollar. — accessed September 4, 2026
  6. World Bank, International Comparison Program (ICP) 2021 benchmark, price level indices (world = 100), Thailand and the United States. The linked query returns all four series used here (9100000 households final consumption expenditure, 1101000 food and non-alcoholic beverages, 1107000 transport, 1111000 restaurants and hotels). The category indices on this page are the Thai index divided by the US index times 100: households final consumption expenditure 55.67 over 152.02 = 36.6; food and non-alcoholic beverages 84.96 over 116.52 = 72.9; transport 68.42 over 115.97 = 59.0; restaurants and hotels 41.62 over 142.00 = 29.3. Those are 2021 benchmark levels. Because col_index_vs_us is quoted on the current, 2025 basis (32.3 rather than 36.6), the category figures shown are those 2021 ratios scaled by the same 32.3 over 36.6 factor, giving groceries 64.3, transport 52.0 and dining 25.8. That rescaling assumes Thai and US prices moved together across categories between 2021 and 2025; it is a stated assumption, not a measured category movement. Nothing on this page uses crowd-sourced price data. — accessed September 4, 2026
  7. World Bank ICP 2021, actual housing, water, electricity, gas and other fuels: Thailand 25.94 against the United States 214.62 (world = 100), a ratio of 12.1. That aggregate covers the whole national dwelling stock including imputed rents on owner-occupied and rural housing, so it is not used for rent_index_vs_us here, which is meant to describe the urban condominium market an arriving foreigner actually rents in. No permitted official source publishes a national average one-bedroom rent for Thailand, so rent_index_vs_us and both rent_1bed figures on this page are editorial estimates, not measured statistics: about 475 dollars for a central one-bedroom and about 300 outside the centre, roughly 29 percent of a typical US metro one-bedroom. Treat them as indicative and check current listings. This is the main reason data_confidence on this page is low. — accessed September 4, 2026
  8. Energy Policy and Planning Office (EPPO), Ministry of Energy, Table 5.3-4, Electricity Consumption for the Whole Country Classified by Sector: residential consumption 58,863.05 GWh in 2025, and total billed consumption 203,578.68 GWh. Divided by the 26.30 million households counted in the 2025 census and by twelve, residential use is about 187 kWh a month for a normal Thai dwelling. This is the consumption assumption behind utilities_index_vs_us: actual national household consumption at the local price, not a unit price on its own. — accessed September 4, 2026
  9. Energy Policy and Planning Office (EPPO), Table 6.1-1, Expenditure on Final Energy Consumption: 969,911.67 million baht spent on electricity in 2025. Over the 203,578.68 GWh billed in Table 5.3-4 that is an average selling price of 4.76 baht per kWh, so 187 kWh a month costs about 890 baht. utilities_index_vs_us adds an estimated 290 baht a month for metered water and the municipal refuse fee; that component is an editorial estimate, because no citable residential tariff table could be located on the Metropolitan Waterworks Authority site and the Provincial Waterworks Authority publishes its rates only through an interactive bill calculator. Total about 1,180 baht, or 35.9 dollars at 32.88 baht to the dollar, against a US monthly equivalent of about 210 dollars for the same electricity, heating, water and refuse basket: index 17.1. Thailand has no space heating, which is part of the US basket, and Thai rents do not customarily bundle electricity or water, so this is a like-for-like unbundled bill. It is a national average: an air-conditioned Bangkok condominium runs several times higher. — accessed September 4, 2026
  10. National Statistical Office of Thailand, 2025 (B.E. 2568) Population and Housing Census, preliminary results: 70.3 million people resident in Thailand and 26.30 million households. The household count is the denominator used to turn EPPO national residential electricity consumption into a per-household monthly bill. — accessed September 4, 2026
  11. Social Security Office, Ministry of Labour, Thailand: benefits of the Social Security Fund, including the sickness and injury medical benefit. This is the responsible national authority for the only public health coverage a foreign resident of Thailand can join, which is enrolment as an insured employee; the National Health Security Office administers the Universal Coverage Scheme, which is restricted to Thai nationals. It replaces the World Health Organization link previously used as this page's health authority. — accessed September 4, 2026
  12. Thai Revenue Department, Personal Income Tax: 180-day residency test, residents taxed on Thai-source income plus foreign income brought into Thailand, progressive rates to a 35 percent top bracket above 4,000,000 baht, return due by the last day of March following the tax year. — accessed September 4, 2026
  13. Thai Revenue Department, Value Added Tax: current rate 7 percent, registration threshold 1.8 million baht of annual turnover. — accessed September 4, 2026
  14. Thai Revenue Department, How do foreigners living in Thailand pay tax? Official guidance on Section 41 of the Revenue Code: foreign-sourced income earned from 1 January 2024 onward by someone in Thailand 180 days or more in that year is taxable when remitted, even in a later tax year; foreign tax paid can be credited under a double tax agreement. — accessed September 4, 2026
  15. IRS, Thailand tax treaty documents: the United States has a 1996 income tax treaty with Thailand. — accessed September 4, 2026
  16. IRS, totalization agreements: explains that US self-employment tax continues to apply to a self-employed American abroad unless a totalization agreement with that country is in force. The IRS page itself does not enumerate countries and defers to the Social Security Administration's list; Thailand has no totalization agreement with the United States. — accessed September 4, 2026
  17. IRS Rev. Proc. 2025-32, section 3.39: the foreign earned income exclusion under section 911(b)(2)(D)(i) is 132,900 dollars for taxable years beginning in 2026. — accessed September 4, 2026
  18. IRS, foreign earned income exclusion: bona fide residence test and 330-day physical presence test. — accessed September 4, 2026
  19. Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C., New Visa Exemption and Visa on Arrival: New Tourist Visa Exemption Scheme (30 Days), effective 15 September 2026, 60 exempt nationalities including the United States, extendable by up to 30 further days, 20,000 baht per person cash requirement. Page updated 1 September 2026. — accessed September 4, 2026
  20. Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C., Destination Thailand Visa (DTV): 5-year validity, 400 dollar fee, 500,000 baht bank balance in each of the last three months, workcation and soft power tracks, FBI criminal record certificate required. Page updated 1 September 2026. — accessed September 4, 2026
  21. Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C., Non-Immigrant O-A (Long Stay): age 50 and over, 800,000 baht deposit or 65,000 baht monthly income, health insurance with a 3,000,000 baht sum insured per policy year, criminal record and medical certificates, 200 dollar fee, 1-year validity. — accessed September 4, 2026
  22. Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C., Non-Immigrant O-X (Long Stay, 5 year): United States among 14 eligible nationalities, age 50 and over, 3,000,000 baht fixed deposit or 1,800,000 baht plus 1,200,000 baht annual income in a Thai bank, Thai health insurance with 40,000 baht outpatient and 400,000 baht inpatient cover, 400 dollar fee. — accessed September 4, 2026
  23. Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C., Non-Immigrant Visa B: 80 dollars for 90 days single entry, 200 dollars for 1 year multiple entry, WP32 approval letter from the Ministry of Labour, bank balance requirements of 1,000 to 4,000 dollars. — accessed September 4, 2026
  24. Thailand Board of Investment, Long-Term Resident (LTR) Visa: four categories with their income, asset and insurance thresholds. The minimum average personal income of USD 80,000 per year applies to Highly-Skilled Professionals, Work-from-Thailand Professionals and (as unearned or passive income) Wealthy Pensioners. It does not apply to Wealthy Global Citizens: the qualifications BOI publishes for that category are USD 1 million in assets, USD 500,000 already invested in Thailand and the insurance or deposit condition, with no income line. 10-year renewable visa granted 5 years then extended 5; 50,000 baht processing fee per person when collected in Thailand, with BOI warning the fee may be considerably higher at an embassy or by e-visa; benefits include 1-year reporting, re-entry permit exemption, airport fast track, 17 percent personal income tax for highly skilled professionals and tax exemption for overseas income. BOI states that a work permit will not be granted to Work-from-Thailand Professionals because they work for a foreign employer and have no Thai employer. — accessed September 4, 2026
  25. Thailand Privilege Card, membership packages: Bronze 650,000 baht for 5 years, Gold 900,000 baht for 5 years, Platinum 1,500,000 baht for 10 years, Diamond 2,500,000 baht for 15 years, Reserve 5,000,000 baht for 20 years by invitation. — accessed September 4, 2026
  26. World Health Organization, Thailand country profile: current health expenditure 5.16 percent of GDP (2021). Cited here only for that statistic. WHO is an international agency and is not Thailand's health authority; the official healthcare link on this page points at the responsible Thai body instead. — accessed September 4, 2026

Nathan Brooks · Editor, Your New Country

Nathan builds and maintains the Your New Country dataset, reconciling figures from the OECD, Eurostat, the World Bank and national statistics offices, and reading each country’s immigration and tax guidance at the source before it is published.

  • Reads each country’s immigration, tax and health guidance in the original official source rather than in secondary coverage
  • Reconciles every published figure against OECD, Eurostat, World Bank and national statistics releases on a quarterly cycle
  • Publishes the derivation and the access date beside each number, and marks estimates as estimates

Data reviewed September 4, 2026 · source confidence: low ·methodology

Keep going on Thailand

← Back to the full Thailand guide · US vs Thailand, side by side →